B.Inspired MAMA

B.Inspired by clever products, crafty projects, and creative parenting!

B.Inspired to Inspire Creativity in Your Child

Posted by Krissy on May 21, 2009

“Every child is an artist.  The problem is how to remain an artist once he grows up.”

Pablo Picasso

Photo courtesy of Flávio Takemoto at http://www.flavio.pro.br

Photo courtesy of Flávio Takemoto at http://www.flavio.pro.br

As a former art teacher, this is the quote that best demonstrates my philosophy of art education.  I truly believe that every person has an inherent creative force.  And I believe that it is (or was) my job as an art teacher to nurture that creative force in each of my students.

Now as a full-time mother, I am starting to see that creative force, full force, in my 2 year old son, Sawyer.  It greets me everyday in his imaginative play, nonsensical stories, goofy new lyrics to Twinkle Twinkle Little Star, and finger-painted masterpieces.  The creativity just oozes out of him, with seemingly little assistance from his father or I.  And after more thought, I realize that we do play a vital role in his crazy creative energy.  It’s not just his elementary art teacher’s job to nurture that creativity (when he goes to school in 3 years.)  Without proper attention, the excitement and innovation might fade by then.  It is our responsibility as parents to tend to it now, while it’s so prolific and pure! 

So I’ve made a promise to myself and most importantly to my children to make their creative energy a parenting priority.  Everyday I will post about clever products, crafty projects, and creative parenting tips and tricks.  So, please, join me in my journey, and “B.Inspired” to inspire creativity in your little ones!

When do you see your children’s natural creativity?  What creative activities do they most enjoy?
Leave a Reply

 
